In some cases it is necessary to send screenshots to the support. For this to be possible, the screenshot(s) must be shared via a link. This link can be a link to an own cloud or to a "web uploader", also called web screenshot tools.
If your own cloud or the web screenshot tool does not offer a function to create a screenshot directly, it can usually be created on the PC with simple tools. Under Windows, it is sufficient to use the tool "Snipping Tool". With this tool, a screenshot can be saved locally, this can then be uploaded. Under Linux, the usually already installed tool "Screenshots" or other tools such as "FlameShot" can be used to create local screenshots, which can then be uploaded.
Below we will provide a short description of the 2 most popular screenshot tools that are freely available on the market:
⚠️ It is not recommended to share private or sensitive data publicly. If data is visible on the screenshot, it should be made unrecognizable or replaced by example data.
Imgur offer an uploader for own files like pictures/videos. After the upload is done, a link is created. This can then be shared with others.
Important: Since there is no screenshot function there, the screenshot must be made beforehand so that it can be uploaded afterwards (see above under "Create screenshots").
After the screenshot has been uploaded, small edits can still be made:
Afterwards, the screenshot can be posted as a Post to Community (will be listed publicly) or as Hidden (will not be listed publicly).
Once this is done, the link that can be used for sharing will be displayed:
Lightshot does not offer a direct upload for images/screenshots. The upload can only be done via the own client. The client can be obtained directly from the website and also offers a few tools to mark/show something on the screenshot or make it unrecognizable.
Download the client Download Important: A version for Linux is not offered.
After the download, the client can be installed. Afterwards, by default, a scrrenshot can be created or an area can be selected with the "Print" button.
After the area is selected, the screenshot can still be edited.
Once the editing is completed, if necessary, the screenshot can be uploaded by clicking on the "Cloud".
After uploading, the link can be copied and shared with others.